Table 1: Commonly accepted classification of CMT based on type with descriptive features.

Type of CMT

Descriptive Features

CMT Type 1

Autosomal dominant and demyelinating form. The most common form of CMT.

CMT Type 2

Axonal form that is dominantly inherited.

CMT Type 3

Severe form often with early onset. The term Dejerine-Sottas Syndrome may be used to describe those with onset by the age of 3 years. Often have extremely slow nerve conduction velocities.

CMT Type 4

Autosomal recessive, considered rare, and often have systemic manifestations such as cataracts and deafness.

X-Linked CMT

CMT in which the affected gene is located on the X-chromosome. Males more often affected than females. CMT1X is the second most common form of CMT.